top of page
  • kimwallin

And so it begins......

The transition from fall to summer, that is. Believe me, I try as hard as the next person to extend summer, but there are a few telltale signs that signal the beginning of fall. Since it’s a tad bit too early for pumpkins, I spend the month of August pre-gaming for fall. Here are a few things that jumpstart my transition into an autumn state of mind.


1. SUNFLOWERS

I love the red, white and blue decor that accompanies summer, but when July fourth has come and gone, I’m always ready for a change. Cute the sunflowers!!! Their cheery yellow faces replace the Stars and Stripes, and give my decor that late summer/early fall vibe I love.


Tucked into a painted glass pitcher, they make a perfect centerpiece for these Talavera serving pieces.


2. SCHOOL SUPPLIES

Anyone else get weak in the knees over new pencils, colored pens, folders, and notebooks? I still do!! Even though my kiddos have flown the coop, I find myself wandering the school supply aisles and picking up new supplies each year. Seriously, who doesn’t love a great set of colored pens!!!

This year I grabbed a Happy Planner, and a journal for hand lettering practice. Back to school isn’t just for kids, I tell myself as I unbox my new crayola markers.

3. HATCH GREEN CHILE


Three of my favorite words! Being married to a native New Mexican, I learned quickly that green chile is a food group of it’s own, and is NEVER to be substituted with the canned version of itself. Fortunately, fresh green chile from the Hatch Valley is available in my area during the month of August. Since it’s a short season, I take full advantage, buying enough to have roasted and freeze for the entire year. It’s become a mini holiday of sorts for us, celebrated with our favorite Chile Rellano‘s for lunch, after several cases have been roasted, separated, labeled, and frozen.



Y’all, the smell of fresh, roasted green chile is something you can never duplicate. A sure sign that fall is coming soon. Once the freezer is full, we’re ready for cooler temps and heartwarming dishes full of our favorite ingredients.


I hope you’re making the transition to early fall easily, and enjoying the signs of the season that tell you fall is coming!! If you’re stuck, pick up one or two of mine and enjoy that “it’s almost fall“ feeling!!!

Happy Transitioning!!!




14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page