top of page
  • kimwallin

Layering a Place Setting

Updated: Sep 29, 2020

I love layers y’all!! Whether they are in the form of clothes, accessories, hair, or scents. If you can layer it up, I’m all in! Nothing says “you’re welcome at my table” like a cute and colorful place setting. Read along to see my process and and grab a few fun tips!!


I should tell you right now that my style is super casual. You won’t find anything dainty or formal around here, but I do love fun additions that say “I think you’re special”. Here is a step by step of my fun Mother’s Day Place Setting.

1. Lay a Foundation. I love the distressed wood finish of my dining room table to show, so my foundation begins with placemats. I‘ve used three today, a large rectangle with a rag ruffle, a tailored red rectangle to keep things from being too neutral and a round woven mat in a chocolate brown to ground everything and give me some depth.

2. Chargers and Dinner Plates. In the spirit of full disclosure, I‘m going to admit right now that I have an addiction to chargers. I use them to add texture, shine and depth to my place settings. Some of my favorites are wood grain, galvanized metal, and the ones we’re using g today, burlap. They make a big impact and store easily. Start a collection of your own today! I used these neutral white dinner plates from the Puineer Woman collection at Walmart to top them off.




3. Salad or Accent plates. Here’s where we get to start having fun!! Add some color and personality by adding an accent plate or bowl that matches, or coordinates, with your dinner plates. Don‘t be afraid to mix and match or use patterns and prints. One if my favorite tips is to use a paper plate here. Paper products have come along way and since they’re disposable, there’s no dishwashing or storage!! Splurge and get matching napkins, straws and place cards for fun!!




4. Napkins, Rings and Accessories. Think of this step as adding the jewelry to outfit. Again, don’t be stuffy, play around with your collection of dinner napkins and find the one that compliments your dishes. Here, I’ve used a floral fabric square and layered it with a metallic polka dot cocktail napkin that matches my accent plate. A cute napkin ring finishes it off, or practice some cute napkin folds to keep up Your sleeve. One of my favorite trends is the cloth napkin tied into a chic knot. A little trinket or hostess gift along with a place card and paper straw can be a festive finishing touch.




And Voila!! Your cute and colorful, layered place setting is done! Remember to think out of the box and experiment with your collection of tableware. Mix and match until the perfect place setting takes shape. Thanks for joining me!!



28 views0 comments
bottom of page